Finance Advisory Committee May 22, 2024 4:00 pm

A meeting of the Committee was held on the above date and time via the Zoom Application. Members present were: Leslie Baynes, Nedine Cunningham, Donna Lowell-Bettencourt, Kelly McCracken, John O'Hara, Paul Pertile, Kate Putnam, and Julia Tarka,

At 4:01 PM The Town Clerk, Mrs. Medeiros, opened the meeting and requested nominations for Chair and Vice Chair. Mr. Baynes nominated Mrs. Lowell-Bettencourt for another term as chairperson. Mr. Pertile seconded. Unanimous. Mrs. Lowell-Bettencourt nominated Mr. Baynes for Vice Chair. Mr. Pertile seconded. Unanimous

Mr. Baynes nominated Mr. Pertile for another term as community preservation representative for the Finical Advisory Committee. Mrs. Tarka seconded. Unanimous

Several Line Item Transfers were presented and then unanimously approved:

- \$2,000 from Election Salaries to Election Expenses
- \$13,611 from the Health Insurance to Veterans' Benefits
- \$65,000 from Fire Salaries to Ambulance Salaries

Mr. Hagerty presented a new draft financial policy for the Parks department, specifically addressing the sale of Norton Point stickers. The policy, to be reconciled weekly, aims to ensure accurate financial checks and balances for sticker sales and reporting. Mrs. Tarka inquired about whether the policy would apply to credit card fees and if it was limited to sticker sales alone. Mr. Hagerty confirmed that the policy pertains only to sticker sales. Mr. O'Hara asked about the historical pricing of sticker sales. Mr. Hagerty explained the existing agreement requiring the Town to pay 20% of their revenue to the county for Norton Point beach maintenance. The committee discussed the possibility of renegotiating this agreement to reduce or alter the payment terms, especially considering the recent repairs to the beach.

The committee approved the minutes for the FY25 budget meetings, with Ms. Cunningham and Mrs. McCracken each abstaining on three dates. The committee also scheduled meetings on June 26th and July 10th to address any last-minute transfers before mid-July. Mr. Baynes requested sending a letter to thank Mr. Coad for his service.

At 4:28, Mrs. Cunningham moved to adjourn the meeting. Mrs. Tarka seconded. Unanimous.

Donna Lowell-Bettencourt, Leslie Baynes, Nedine Cunningham Paul Pertile Kelly McCracken Kate Putnam Julia Tarka John O'Hara (Alternate)

Respectfully submitted,

James Hagerty Town Administrator

Documents:

- Transfer Forms, NP Policy