Minutes of the Special Meeting/ Hearing Continuation of May 7, 2024

WATER COMMISSIONERS PRESENT:

Mr. Scott Ellis, Chair Mr. James Kelleher Mr. David Burke

EWD STAFF PRESENT:

Mr. William Chapman Mr. Shane Ben David

GUEST:

Mr. Michael Goldsmith, Town Counsel

Meeting Called to Order:

Mr. Ellis called the meeting to order at 4:07 p.m.

Superintendent Chapman discussed the hearing from April 25, 2024 regarding 56 North Water Street, Map 20D, Parcel 226. Owner, Edgartown Inn Realty Trust, Charles C. Hajjar, Trustee, and provided an overview of the evidence presented. The purpose of the hearing was to provide an opportunity to the Owner to present evidence on whether the Department's June 13, 2023 directive to install separate service lines (fire and domestic) to a second premise on the parcel was proper. The Rear Building does not have independent lines providing fire and domestic water service. The Department has not approved independent service lines to the Rear Building, and has not inspected any service lines to that premise. There are numerous violations of the existing connection of the Rear Building including loss of rates and application fees. The Rear Building is not in compliance with the Rules and Regulations, and violates paragraphs 1,4,7,8,11,and 11a. The Board also finds the Trust is in violation of 310 CMR 22.22.

The Board reviewed a draft decision prepared by the Superintendent with the assistance of counsel, which contained an order to the Owner to install the separate lines forthwith.

Mr. Ellis made a motion to approve the draft decision and to issue it to the Owner. Mr. Kelleher seconded. Motion to approve the decision passed, 2-0. (Commissioner Burke did not participate in the vote due to his absence from the first hearing date).

Α	D	10	П	IR	N	\mathbf{N}	Œ	N	\mathbf{T}	•

Mr. Kelleher motioned to adjourn the meeting at 4:30~p.m., Mr. Ellis seconded and the motion passed unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,	
Heidi Boyd Department Assistant	
BOARD OF WATER COMMISSIONERS TOWN OF EDGARTOWN	
Scott Ellis, Chair	
James Kelleher, Commissioner	
David Burke, Commissioner	