Minutes of the Regular Meeting of June 11, 2019

WATER COMMISSIONERS PRESENT:

James Kelleher, Commissioner Scott Ellis, Commissioner David Burke, Commissioner

EWD STAFF PRESENT:

Mr. William Chapman, Superintendent

Mr. Shane Ben David, Assistant Superintendent

Meeting Called to Order:

Meeting was called to order by Mr. Kelleher at 3:03 pm

Minutes:

Mr. Ellis motioned to approve the minutes from the meeting on May 14, 2019. Mr. Kelleher seconded and the motion passed unanimously.

OLD BUSINESS:

Mill Hill Tank Update:

Mobilization letter has been sent to World Wide. They will be here the beginning of October 2019. Work should be completed by October 18, 2019.

Mill Hill Rd:

In 2014 Mill Hill Rd became a Town approved road even though it doesn't conform to town owed road standards. Road is not 16' wide. There was an article at the ATM to have the road surveyed. The Highway Department should be called to have the road cut back.

Proposed Water Transmission Main:

Fire Chief Schaffer is excited about the proposed water transmission main. If the project goes through it will take approximately 20 days. It would cover about 2.25 miles. Approval would be needed from the State Forest.

NEW BUSINESS:

Website Content Discussion:

The Water Department website is going to be revamped. The commissioners would like to see some water conservation tips added to the content.

Other Business:

- The commissioner's signed paperwork allowing the chairman to sign warrants.
- Mr. Chapman will be on vacation from 06/28/2019 07/05/2019.
- The water department should not be testing backflow devices on fire suppression sprinklers. An independent company should conduct the tests with the water department overseeing them. Mr. Chapman will contact some companies and get cost estimates.

ADJOURNMENT:

Mr. Kelleher motioned, Mr. Ellis seconded and the Commissioners voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 4.08 pm.

Respectfully submitted,
Lindsey Mercier Administrative Assistant
APPROVED:
BOARD OF WATER COMMISSIONERS TOWN OF EDGARTOWN
James Kelleher, Chairman
Scott Ellis, Water Commissioner
David Rurke Water Commissioner