New Water Rates (Starting April 2019)

  • New Water Rates to be in effect beginning in April, 2019

    On August 14, 2018, the Edgartown Board of Water Commissioners voted to adjust the water rates beginning with the April 2019 billing cycle. This decision was made after much consideration and the careful examination of several rate structure options, as well as the projected operational expenses of the Water Department. We are very pleased to have held the present rate structure for the past nine years. However, due to the increase of operational costs, supplies, utilities and materials, our present rate structure is not expected to meet the budgetary needs of the Water Department in the next fiscal year. We believe that we have served the community well by maintaining this water rate for nine years, while still meeting the potable water and fire protection needs of the community.

It is the intent of the Board of Water Commissioners to continue to provide a level of service to the Town of Edgartown that is second to none and to the quality and protection level you have come to expect, at an affordable rate. It is for this reason that we took a sensitive approach to this decision. We believe that this increase will meet the needs of the Water Department, while not creating financial hardships to our valued residents and customers.

The new rate structure to be in effect starting in April of 2019 is as follows:

  • Base Charge – A 20% increase over the present rate. The new Base Charge will be $150.00.
  • Usage Rate (1 – 49,999 gallons) – A 5% increase over the present rate. The new rate will be $2.10 / 1,000 gallons.
  • Usage Rate (50,000 or more) – A 5% increase over the present rate. The new rate will be $2.36 / 1,000 gallons.

The billing cycles will remain the same, with water bills being distributed every April and October.

We thank the residents of Edgartown for their continued support.

Any questions may be directed to William Chapman – Water Superintendent at 508-627-4717.

The Edgartown Board of Water Commissioners